The First Annual Student Leadership Awards

Winners of the 2015 Student Leadership Awards

Winners of the 2015 Student Leadership Awards

The first annual Student Leadership Awards were held on Sunday, April 26 at the Las Cruces Convention Center. Mark Baccei, Assistant Dean of Students, hosted the event with the NMSU Trailblazers. The Trailblazers are a group of junior and senior students who are active leaders in the campus community. The goal of the organization is to gain and improve leadership skills by organizing service opportunities, participating in NMSU traditions, and being role models for freshmen and sophomore student leaders. The 2015 NMSU Trailblazers include Marcus Anderson, Justin Eneboe, Amanda Getchell, Rachel Hobson, Juliann Lamb, Jonathan Martinez, Armando Martinez Cantu, Adam Mitchell, Megan Williams, and Cameron Wolfe.

University Student Leadership awards and Recreational Service awards were presented Sunday night. Dr. Bernadette Montoya, Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, spoke to the audience about leadership lessons and the value of leadership skills that can be learned at NMSU.

2015 Leadership Award Winners

Leadership Pioneer of the Year
Armando Martinez Cantu and Sylvia Fernanez

Student Organization of the Year
NMSU CAMP Student Council

Pistol Pete – Unsung Hero of the Year
Victoria Villallobos, The Counseling Undergraduate Society

Advisor of the Year
Dr. Devon Golem, Student Association of Nutrition and Dietetics

Aggie Leader of the Year
Jamie Lakey, Eta Sigma Gamma

A-Mountain Service Award of the Year
All Greek Council, Greek Week 2015

Program of the Year
Crimson Crew, NCAA Men’s WAC Basketball Tournament Spirit Event

Diversity Program of the Year
University Diversity Week



This entry was posted in Other news and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.